Kat's Blog of Random Events

I know I’m not ready to have children right now, but after I had a miscarriage 2 years ago, I’ve wondered if I should do anything to help others have children. I was thinking of being an egg donor, but because I only have so many eggs, I think I’d like to wait to be an egg donor until after I’ve had my own children. So my next thought was, what about being a surrogate parent and carrying another couple’s baby?

I know that the decision to become a surrogate mother should be an extremely long and well-thought out process, of which I am only in the early stages, but my initial thoughts are that as heartbreaking as it may be to lose something that you’ve been caring for for 9 months, doesn’t that also make it that much more rewarding to know that you’re giving another couple a chance that they otherwise never would have had?

Does anybody have thoughts on this? Has anyone ever been a surrogate or used a surrogate mother? What can you tell me about your experience? And does anyone know the best place to do it? I’m looking to do it somewhere that caters to both heterosexual and LGBT couples.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

